How About Them Apples?

So today my cousin decided that she was finally going to make neighbor gifts. We’re a little late to the game so a lot of the easy stuff like banana bread and chocolate covered pretzels have already been taken. We tossed around the idea of chocolate covered spoons or peppermint bark ect. Then she told me to just look something up on the internet. So I did, And the Deseret news had this ginormous list of ideas. So we are scanning through them and there is one involving apples and Carmel and a cheesy little saying that says something along the lines of “You’re very a-peel-ing neighbors, dip into a new year”

So anyways I was sent off to the store to buy apples and run a few other errands. now I don’t know whats normal, but in my neighborhood. the term neighborhood gift is taken very literally. as in your neighborhood is probably just your cul-de-sac or your street, or a few streets. all in all approximately 12-15 people end up with whatever delicious treats you have gotten for them Not here. my cousin has literally planned for 50 gifts.(!!!)

I bought 150 apples today. 50 of 3 different kinds. and the employee who stood there and watched me hand select each apple thought it was the craziest thing he’d ever seen. 150… that is alot of apples. I know this because EVERY. SINGLE, PERSON. I passed either made a comment like “Wow. That’s a lot of apples” or “HAHA! You must REALLY like apples” I spent approximately 200 dollars on apples. I also bought walmart out of those little containers of individual Carmel. I consider this to be an accomplishment.

About kelltick

Snowcones. Theme Parks. All Time Low. Lake Powell. Concerts. Random Dancing. Trampolines. The Beach. Camping. Snowboarding. Horses. Dr Pepper. Summer camp. Pets. Sarcasm. Adventures. Utah. Arizona. Pool days. the lake. SUMMER. Pictures. Tang (the drink). Vacations. Life.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How About Them Apples?

  1. Aliese says:

    Wow, that IS a lot of apples. I can’t remember exactly how many neighbor gifts my parents do, bit it’s a whole lot. I would say like 25-50% of the ward actually. Maybe not quite fifty households…but it’s a lot. I do love caramel and apples though, so that’s a good idea! Plus, it’s not completely sugar-ridden.

Leave a Reply

