Andrew VS. Andrew + Driving in China

Andrew the long distance boyfriend is visiting this weekend. Andrew the upstairs boy already said he was going to find some reason to come over so he could see him. Here’s what I think should happen…. I think Jess should design a serious of tasks for them to complete and we can watch and judge them. A relay race, a dance off, an IQ test, maybe some Karaoke, you know whatever comes to mind.  Also yesterday was Chinese New Year!  I tried to post the traditional Chinese New Year post with the red picture, but I kept getting an IO error on the picture uploader. I don’t know if it was wordpress or my computer, but for the life of me I couldn’t get it to work.  Since I feel bad about not posting about Chinese New Year here is an old draft from the old blog that I apparently wrote in China, and never posted (probably because proxy servers suck).

The driving style here in China is pretty crazy. Here are the rules I’ve picked up on so far.

  • Driving on the wrong side of the road in order to pass some one else is completely acceptable
  • Red lights can be easily avoided by driving over curbs or through parking lots
  • Scooters and motorcycles are very common here, and why wouldn’t they be? I mean they are small and compact and you can drive them at high speeds down both the side walk and the street.
  • Seat belts? Who needs ’em. Most the Taxi’s here don’t even have seat belts. I haven’t used one once since I got here.
  • Leaving your brights on while you drive through the middle of the city at night is just fine. People can totally still see, because they have theirs on too.
  • Yielding to pedestrians = very uncommon (more like never)
  • Honking = very common
  • Speed Limit? Ha!  How fast can your car go?

One time I saw a building with the words “Traffic Police” written across the top. It was abandoned. At this point my life has flashed before my eyes so many times it’s like watching re-runs.

About SadieSadie

I LOVE Horses, Roller Coasters, Traveling , Meeting Weird People, River Rafting, Summer, Music, Mornings, Enthusiasm, Philanthropy, Themed Parties, Reading, Black and White Photographs, Orange Juice, Making Lists, Road Trips, Swing Sets, and Mix CDs. https://bffbloggers.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

