The Different Types of Finals week Students

First we have the student who moves to the library or as I prefer to call them Library Zombies. you might see them studying away when you stop in to the library in the morning to print off your paper, then later that evening when you go to use the library’s uber fast internet to download some Ebook, There they are taking a little snooze at their desk. The next morning you go back to the library for class and they are still there, same chair, same table, same clothes studying away. These students are the reason there is a cafe in the library, And the line is always long.

Next we have the serious business at home studier, to know that a person is this type of studier they probably have to tell you. Perhaps you shoot of a message like “hey want to go get some ice cream as a finals week treat?” and they reply 8 hours later at 3 in the morning, “oh hey sorry, didn’t get your text I’ve been holed up in my room studying all day.” These are who I believe are the most dedicated of finals week students. The ones in the library are dedicated to be sure, but these at home studiers can stay on task off campus and that is impressive.

Another type of studier is the crammer. Both of my brothers are crammers. These kids don’t study for the test until the day before the test. ever. and they will tell you this. and then they start to study for the test, they stay up basically all night studying, maybe take a quick catnap before the test, then go take it, then come home and crash. personally of all the studiers I find this the most difficult to understand. Because If I stayed up all night a cat nap would not be enough to get me through the test

The Facebook studier is the student who is on facebook saying ” I should be studying for finals but instead I’m on facebook, such is my life” Hi. You don’ need to broadcast to the world that you ought to be studying. News flash. Probably no one cares, except maybe your parents, who wish that you were studying.

Then there is the non studier. the person who claims,”Oh, I didn’t study for this test at all!” and then after the test walking out you hear them talking to someone and they are like “Just totally aced my final” I am suspicious, and jealous of these people in equal parts, and I want to know how many of them actually ace the test.

I myself am a half studier. I set out with good intentions to buckle down and study. I get all set up, read my notes, maybe even jot a few things down. Then I get all the way through my notes once and am just like ” Well, guess I’m done!” then I go on my merry way. Part of the problem is that if I study for too long my test anxiety gets worse and part of the problem is that after I read through something I’m pretty sure I know it, even if I don’t.

Happy testing everyone!

 

About kelltick

Snowcones. Theme Parks. All Time Low. Lake Powell. Concerts. Random Dancing. Trampolines. The Beach. Camping. Snowboarding. Horses. Dr Pepper. Summer camp. Pets. Sarcasm. Adventures. Utah. Arizona. Pool days. the lake. SUMMER. Pictures. Tang (the drink). Vacations. Life.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Different Types of Finals week Students

  1. Jennifer says:

    I was almost always in the crammer group…sometimes it worked like a champ…sometimes, not so much.

Leave a Reply

